On The Boardwalk

I first met you on the boardwalk at sunset
In a yellow sundress, flowers in your hair
And I was too tongue-tied for clever lines
To have even asked you your name
Something about the water
Something about the sand
Something about asking
If you’d hold my hand

It was along the water under soft moonlight
You were twirling in the sand by the bonfire
Your eyes burning red, you moved in ways
I wouldn’t be able to forget for days
Feels like a waking dream
What was the rumination
That I’ve got to keep asking
Are you just my imagination?

We saw the sun rise at the rim of the world
And I still couldn’t be sure that this was real
The touch of your lips and the very first kiss
Your eyes pulling me into an abyss
Before I knew it you were gone
Dipping beneath the red horizon
Sailed away on an ocean wave
My heart strings left undone

Leave a Reply

