Bad Habit

Oh, I’ve got a bad habit
And I’m woefully unprepared
In the dimming city lights
She’s got her eyes set on me
I can feel her army of bad intentions
Marching directly for my heart

Oh, I’m a glutton for punishment
Throwing open the gates with a flourish
Ringing the bells and shouting
“Come on in! Come on in!
See the carnival, see the lights!
See the games, see the shows!
And be sure to take a piece of me
Before you go!”

Oh, I’ve got a bad habit
She’s a cool breeze on a summer day
Whistling through aching bones
And tall, arching maple trees
A reminder of the grassy knolls
We played in when we were young

Leave a Reply

