Harmonica Man

Bright and sunny day, could you carry a tune?
I don’t believe we’ve met, not down at the saloon
I’ll ride in on my horse to search for the buried gold
One thousand times over I’ve been bought and sold

Vultures circling round my high noon scorching sun
The last possession on me, my tried and trusted gun
Out here in the sun and desert and shadowed by cacti
I lay my hat on my chest, not sure if I’ll live or I’ll die

Harmonica man, it’s been so goddamned long
Sing the blues, man, to comfort all of our wrongs
Harmonica man, won’t you play us all a song?

Quick draw, shot him down, but took a bullet too
It’s all I’ve got in this broken body to pull through
Beyond bleached skulls, there’s a lush oasis I see
It’s just a mirage, and I reach for my skin of whiskey

Harmonica man, it’s been so goddamned long
Harmonica man, won’t you play us all a song
Harmonica man, help me get through this battle
Harmonica man, help me get back in the saddle

Sing the blues, man, to comfort all of our woes
Harmonica man, that’s the way a western life goes

Leave a Reply

