Deconstruct

We’ll regale ourselves with tales of old
And of stories that are so famous and bold
The times we’ve spent laughing over spirits
While there might be details that we omit
It really doesn’t matter in the grand scheme
It’s all the same in a teenage wet dream

So baby, let’s spend the night together
We can deconstruct all our inhibitions
Move on the dance floor to the sound
Spin like a top and watch the room whirl

Well tell me how you’ve made it this far
When you’ve come so close, but no cigar
I’ll tell you how I was a wild west gunslinger
And how I was sure you were a dead ringer
For a girl I used to know back in my past
Something we both knew would never last

So baby, let’s spend the night together
We can deconstruct all our inhibitions
Take it back to my place before too long
Pretend we’ve never met when morning comes

Serve me one more drink and I’ll leave
Though I’ve got another story I can weave
How I learned long ago to never fall in love
That it’s just another feeling to be disposed of
And I don’t know what I’ve been talking about
With no merit badge, I’m just a lost boy scout

Leave a Reply

