I Remember

I remember…
When you took my hand the first time
One day after the final frost of winter
While tulips pushed through the soil
Spring had begun

How you lifted me from the bottom
Of a bottle or my thoughts with a hand
Showed me it can mean as much as a smile
So I smiled back

The way you could sing the blues
Delicate, beautiful yet raw, untamed
A siren sweetly singing take me away
Take me away

Watching your fingers pick the guitar
Left hand just like Paul you always said
My harp couldn’t keep your torrid pace
I wailed along

The hood of my car, cigarettes and the stars
Led Zeppelin I, the ocean and that first kiss
The night was young then again so were we
And so were we

And I remember the last words you said
As you forced one last smile before I left
You said I know I’ll see you on the other side
And your eyes closed

(Dedicated to Anna Michiko Reardon, the first girl I ever loved. 03/17/81-04/18/03)

Leave a Reply

